Solange – When I Get Home

Solange - When I Get Home - Multimedia preview (

Solange – When I Get Home – Multimedia preview


Finally the new Solange (full name: Solange Knowles) is here: When I Get Home was released last night to streaming services. Whether, and if so when, the album will be released on physical formats as well, is not known at the moment.

New York Times

Twitter message 28-02-2019 19:42 (

Twitter message 28-02-2019 19:42

On October 15th, 2018, an interview with Solange was published on the New York Times website. Based on that interview it was assumed the album was going to be released that same year, even though the interview states: “The record will likely arrive into the world fully formed at some mysterious and unexpected moment, like a meteor cratering into the culture. But she will not be rushed”. Solange doesn’t reveal much on the new album, except: “There is a lot of jazz at the core, but with electronic and hip-hop drum and bass because I want it to bang and make your trunk rattle”. She tells she is tense about releasing new music.

However, nothing happened in 2018. The new year didn’t give any clues, until February 26th, when Solange announced she had created a personal page on the BlackPlanet platform. The page contained photo’s, (short) video clips and a page that contained dates of future live shows, most of them for festivals in Europe (no Netherlands unfortunately).

On February 27th a video was published, what led to conclusions a new album was underway (even though the video itself didn’t state that). One day later another video was published (though Instagram this time) accompanied by the text “callll meeee 281-330-8004 ! s/o mike jones 4 life! special announcement on the hotliiiiiinnne!!!”. This was quickly followed by a Twitter message that contained the track listing to a new album.

Twitter message 01-03-2019 00:28 (

Twitter message 01-03-2019 00:28

March 1st, at midnight, it finally happened. The successor to the brilliant 2016 album A Seat At The Table was officially released: When I Get Home, the album that sees Solange honoring her home town. A number of songs is titled after places in the Texan city. Next Sunday, March 3rd, Solange organizes a number of events in the city, celebrating the album’s release.


Solange - When I Get Home (

Solange – When I Get Home

Maybe a little early, but how is the album? Musically warm, with a kind of 1970’s soul vibe. And yet the album is firmly planted in the current era. Solange’s voice is in rare form. Highlights after a few listens: Down With The Clique, Way To the Show (which had a Prince like percussion sound), Stay Flo, Almeda, Jerrod and Sound Of Rain. My firts impression of the album is very positive indeed. It seems that this is only the beginning of releases, with film playing a major role as well. A number of festival performances have been booked already, particularly across Europe. I hope Solange will appear in The Netherlands as well. I can’t wait to see her again!

N.B.: Does My Skin My Logo feature (a sample of) Benjamin 3000?


The album does feature quite a number of guests: Earl Sweatshirt, Panda Bear, Tyler the Creator, Gucci Mane, Playboi Carti, Blood Orange’s Dev Hynes, Sampha, Pharrell Williams, Raphael Saadiq, Metro Boomin, The-Dream, Standing on the Corner, Scarface, Cassie, Abra, the Internet’s Steve Lacy, Devin the Dude and more.

All songs written by Solange, unless stated otherwise.

  • Things I Imagined
  • S McGregor (interlude) *
  • Down With The Clique
  • Way To The Show
  • Can I Hold The Mic (interlude) $
  • Stay Flo
  • Dreams
  • Nothing Without Intention (interlude) #
  • Almeda ^
  • Time (Is)
  • My Skin My Logo
  • We Deal With The Freak’n (intermission)
  • Jerrod
  • Binz
  • Beltway
  • Exit Scott (interlude) φ
  • Sound Of Rain
  • Not Screwed! (interlude) ±
  • I’m A Witness
*   Solange, Giovanni Cortez, John Key
$   Solange, Chassol
#   Solange, Julez Smith, II, Giovanni Cortez, Amber Venerable, Raquel Egbuonu
^   Solange, The Dream, Playboi Carti
  Solange, The-Dream
φ   Solange, Standing on the Corner, Steve Lacy, John Key
±   Solange, Giovanni Cortez, Scarface
Solange - When I Get Home - Multimedia preview (

Solange – When I Get Home – Multimedia preview

In closing

Have you heard the new Solange album yet? What’s your opinion? Let me know!

This story contains an accompanying video. Click on the following link to see it: Video: Solange – When I Get Home. The A Pop Life playlist on Spotify has been updated as well.

Compliments/remarks? Yes, please!