News: Neil Young + Promise Of The Real Live album

On June 24th, 2022, Neil Young finally announced that the live album Noise & Flowers had a definite release date: August 5th, 2022. One of the songs is en extremely rare electric performance of On The Beach, which the band played on July 9th, 2019, in Antwerp, Belgium, the show I was at. It was 1 out of 4 in total live performances of the song ever in Neil Young’s entire career and the first time he played it with a band.

Below the newsletter I received from the NeilYoungArchives website:

Neil Young + Promise Of The Real - Noise & Flowers (

Neil Young + Promise Of The Real announce a new live album, Noise & Flowers, that captures the group in all their glory on their 2019 European tour. The release will be accompanied by a similarly titled concert film that’s included in the album’s 2xLP+CD+Blu-ray Deluxe Edition, and as a stand-alone Blu-Ray disc.

Noise & Flowers is available for pre-order now and is out August 5 via Reprise Records.

Noise & Flowers documents a 9-date tour that began just two weeks after Young’s lifetime friend and manager of more than 50 years, Elliot Roberts, passed away at age 76. Performing alongside a photograph of Roberts taped to his road case, Young approached each show as a celebratory memorial service to honor his late friend. It’s a trek that Neil describes as “wondrous.”

Noise & Flowers explores all corners of his vast discography. It balances all-timer anthems (“Mr. Soul,” “Helpless,” “Rockin’ in the Free World”) with rarely aired ’70s deep cuts (“Field of Opportunity,” “On the Beach”) and ’90s gems (“From Hank to Hendrix,” “Throw Your Hatred Down”). His frequent backing band since 2015, Promise of the Real effectively bridges the extremes in Young’s sound, infusing his raging rockers and country serenades with their casual brilliance and telepathic intuition.

Noise & Flowers‘ companion film, directed by Bernard Shakey and dhlovelife, emphasizes both the intimacy and ecstasy of these performances.

“Playing in his memory [made it] one of the most special tours ever,” Young says in the album’s liner notes. “We hit the road and took his great spirit with us into every song. This music belongs to no one. It’s in the air. Every note was played for music’s great friend, Elliot.”

All Greedy Hand Store purchases of Noise & Flowers (LP, CD, Deluxe boxset) come with the hi-res digital audio download from the Xstream Store © at NYA.

The stand-alone Blu-ray edition of the concert film will be available exclusively at Greedy Hand Store.

Noise & Flowers is entry No. PS 21 in the Neil Young Archives Performance Series of live releases-a special addition to a robust, and still-growing catalog.

Noise & Flowers track list:

  1. Mr. Soul
  2. Everybody Knows This Is Nowhere
  3. Helpless
  4. Field Of Opportunity
  5. Alabama
  6. Throw Your Hatred Down
  7. Rockin’ In The Free World
  8. Comes A Time
  9. From Hank to Hendrix
  10. On The Beach
  11. Are You Ready For The Country
  12. I’ve Been Waiting For You
  13. Winterlong
  14. F***in’ Up

Produced by The Volume Dealers: Neil Young & Niko Bolas

The same day Neil Young published the following text on his NeilYoungArchives website:

Neil Young + Promise Of The Real - Noise & Flowers (

‘NOISE AND FLOWERS’ is a record made just after the passing of my life-long manager and best friend, Elliot Roberts.

Promise of The Real and I had a tour planned of Europe. D and I were in the bus, on our way to New York to catch a plane to Europe …. when we got the call. After returning to the funeral for our beloved Elliot, we got on a plane and left for the tour.

During the tour, we had a poster of Elliot on a road case, right where he always stood during all shows. Everyone who was with us felt that this tour was amazing for its great vibe. The REAL and I delivered for Elliot.

‘NOISE AND FLOWERS’ is now available for pre-order, with a film and a double album – truly a great collection, dripping with the soul of our band as we played for our fallen leader.

Neil and the Real – ‘Rockin in the Free World’ last year … – “Got the Orange Lucifer usin’ this song again” …the band finishes with a colossal cavalcade of noise!

Available on a Deluxe Edition double vinyl, CD, & Blu-Ray on August 5th.

© 2022

Compliments/remarks? Yes, please!